Skip to Content


The Mining and Environmental Justice Community Network of South Africa (MEJCON-SA) is a network of communities, community-based organisations and community members whose environmental and human rights are affected, directly or indirectly, by mining and mining-related activities.

MEJCON-SA’s Constitution provides that it has the following objectives:

  1. to promote and defend the environmental and human rights of communities both directly and indirectly affected by mining; and to ensure the sustainable use of mineral resources;
  2. to train, develop and capacitate community members;
  3. to access information including information about mining, law, rights, processes and impacts and to share and distribute that information amongst affected communities;
  4. to support and assist community champions, community organisations and the members of both directly and indirectly affected communities; and
  5. to engage all relevant roleplayers including government at local, provincial and national level, industry, civil society organisations, non-governmental organisations, traditional authorities and the institutions created in terms of chapter 9 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa Act 108 of 1996.

Since its constitution on 17 October 2012, MEJCON-SA’s membership has grown to more than 300 members. Members of MEJCON-SA include representatives of various community-based and civil-society organisations throughout South Africa.

Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Margaret Molomo – Chairperson (Mokopane, Limpopo)
Busi Bohale – Deputy Chairperson (Middleburg, Mpumalanga)
Andries Mocheko – Secretary (Lephalale, Limpopo)
Katlego Malesa – Deputy Secretary (Sekhukhune, Limpopo)
Ernest Mahlalela – Treasurer (Nkomazi, Mpumalanga)
Phumudzo Mpfuni – Additional Member (Vhembe, Mpumalanga)
Israel Mosala – Additional Member (Meadowlands, Gauteng)